Public Health Programs and Activities

ORS 431A.525
Stroke Care Committee


The Stroke Care Committee is established under the Oregon Health Authority.


The Director of the Oregon Health Authority shall appoint at least 10 members to serve on the committee as follows:


Two physicians who specialize in the care of stroke patients, one of whom is a neurologist;


One physician who specializes in emergency medicine;


At least three hospital administrators, or designees of hospital administrators, of whom:


At least one must be from a certified Comprehensive Stroke Center;


One must be from a certified Primary Stroke Center; and


One must be from a rural hospital that uses Telestroke;


One nurse who is a stroke coordinator or who works in an emergency department and has experience treating stroke;


One emergency medical services provider who works for a licensed ambulance service;


One health practitioner who specializes in rehabilitative medicine; and


One individual who has experience advocating for the care of stroke patients and who is not a health care provider.


In appointing members under subsection (2) of this section, the director must consider the geographic diversity of this state and appoint members who are from rural areas.


For the purpose of achieving continuous improvement in the quality of stroke care, the committee shall:


Analyze data related to the prevention and treatment of strokes;


Identify potential interventions to improve stroke care; and


Advise the authority on meeting the objectives of the authority, including but not limited to the objectives of the emergency medical services and trauma system developed pursuant to ORS 431A.050 (Oregon Health Authority to develop comprehensive emergency medical services and trauma system), that are related to stroke care.


A majority of the members of the committee constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.


Official action taken by the committee requires the approval of a majority of the members of the committee.


The committee shall elect a chairperson from among its members.


The committee shall meet at the call of the chairperson or of a majority of the members of the committee.


The committee may adopt rules necessary for the operation of the committee.


The term of office of each member of the committee is four years, but a member serves at the pleasure of the director. Before the expiration of the term of a member, the director shall appoint a successor whose term begins January 1 next following. A member is eligible for reappointment. If there is a vacancy for any cause, the director shall make an appointment to become immediately effective for the unexpired term.


Members of the committee are not entitled to compensation, but may be reimbursed from funds available to the authority, for actual and necessary travel and other expenses incurred by them in the performance of their official duties in the manner and amounts provided for in ORS 292.495 (Compensation and expenses of members of state boards and commissions). [Formerly 431.673]


Last accessed
May 30, 2023