OAR 337-010-0007
Recognized Credentialing Organizations and Credentials

Licenses will recognize credentials by listing a licensee’s major modality and all sub-specialties for which a licensee is currently certified. Currently recognized subspecialties are listed as follows under each credentialing organization:


American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (ARDMS)


Registered Diagnostic Medical Sonographer — RDMS


Registered Diagnostic Cardiac Sonographer — RDCS


Registered Vascular Technologist — RVT


Registered Musculoskeletal Sonographer — RMSKS


The following specializations, that are subject to change, under the main categories above will also be listed as provided by the ARDMS and recognized as for example as: John Doe, RDMS (AB, OB), RDCS (AE, PE):


AB — Abdomen.


AE — Adult Echocardiography.


BR — Breast Specialty.


FE — Fetal Echocardiography.


MSKS – Musculoskeletal Sonographer.


NE — Neurosonology.


OB — Obstetrics & Gynecology.


PE — Pediatric Echocardiography.


VT — Vascular Technology.


PS — Pediatric Sonography.


American Registry of Magnetic Resonance Imaging Technologists (ARMRIT) Primary designation: MRI. There are no sub-specialties and is recognized as for example: John Doe MRIT (ARMRIT).


American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT). An ARRT certificate confers upon its holder the right to use the title “Registered Technologist” and its abbreviation “R.T.(ARRT)” or “Registered Radiologist Assistant” and its abbreviation “R.R.A. (ARRT)” in connection with licensee’s name as long as the registration of the certificate is in effect. The category designation should be inserted between the “R.T.” and the “(ARRT)” and should be shown as “R.T.(*)(ARRT)” where the asterisk is replaced by the letter or letters are are recognized as for example: Joe Doe RT (R) (ARRT) and indicated in the following list:


(R) For Radiography.


(N) For Nuclear Medicine Technology.


(T) For Radiation Therapy.


(MR) For Magnetic Resonance Imaging.


(S) For Sonography.


(CV) For Cardiovascular-Interventional Radiography.


(M) For Mammography.


(CT) For Computed Tomography.


(QM) for Quality Management.


(BD) For Bone Densitometry.


(VS) For Vascular Sonography.


(CI) For Cardiac-Interventional Radiography.


(VI) For Vascular-Interventional Radiography.


(BS) For Breast Sonography.


Certification Board of Radiology Practitioner Assistants (CBRPA) “Radiology Practitioner Assistant” (R.P.A.) An RPA means an American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (A.R.R.T.) technologist who has successfully completed an advanced training program and is certified by the CBRPA and will be recognized for example: Jane Doe RT (ARRT) (RPA) (CBRPA).


Cardiovascular Credentialing International (CCI) are recognized as for example: Jane Doe RCES (CCI) and are indicated in the following list:


ACS — Sonography — Advanced Cardiac Sonographer.


CCT — Angiography — Certified Cardiographic Technician.


RCCS — Sonography — Registered Congenital Cardiac Sonographer.


RCES — Angiography — Registered Cardiac Electrophysiology Specialist.


RCIS — Angiography — Registered Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist.


RCS — Sonography — Registered Cardiac Sonographer.


RPhS — Sonography — Registered Phlebology Sonographer.


RVS — Sonography — Registered Vascular Specialist.


Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB) Primary certification: Nuclear Medicine Technologist — CNMT. The following Sub-specialties are recognized as for example: John Doe NMT, NCT (NMTCB) and are indicated in the following list:


Nuclear Cardiology — NCT.


Positron Emission Tomography — PET.


Computed Tomography — CT.

Source: Rule 337-010-0007 — Recognized Credentialing Organizations and Credentials, https://secure.­sos.­state.­or.­us/oard/view.­action?ruleNumber=337-010-0007.

Last Updated

Jun. 8, 2021

Rule 337-010-0007’s source at or​.us