Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board

Rule Rule 830-060-0010
Initial Applications, Background, Examination, License Renewal


(1)

Any individual who practices as a death care consultant must be licensed under this chapter.

(a)

This chapter does not apply to persons who provide general information on funeral or final disposition arrangements via education classes or workshops, publications (printed or electronic materials) or speaking engagements or to persons who practice law under ORS Chapter 9.160 (Bar membership required to practice law).

(b)

The Board shall not take action against an individual for practicing without a death care consultant license based on conduct that occurs before the Board distributes the results of the first death care consultant examination administered by the Board if the individual had submitted a license application before the exam and the individual pays the appropriate fees and sits for the first death care consultant examination administered by the Board.

(2)

Application Requirements:

(a)

Applicants for licensure as a death care consultant must apply on the most current application form available at the time the applicant submits the application. Applicants may obtain the most current application via the Board’s website, at the Board’s office, or request the Board send the application by mail.

(b)

Applicants for licensure as a death care consultant must pay all appropriate fees established by the Board under OAR 830-020-0040 (License, Certificate and Registration Fees).

(c)

Applicants for licensure as a death care consultant are, prior to licensure, required to successfully complete a written examination established by the Board, and receive a score of not less than 75 percent, based on the total number of questions.

(d)

Applicants for licensure, prior to completing the written examination for death care consultant licensure, must be at least 18 years old.

(e)

All applicants for licensure as a death care consultant licensure must submit to a background investigation pursuant to OAR 830-011-0050 (Background Investigation Required Prior to Oregon Licensure) and ORS 692.025 (License required for funeral service practitioner, embalmer, death care consultant, funeral establishment operator, cemetery or crematory operator)(8).

(3)

Examinations:

(a)

All applications for death care consultant examination, accompanied by the examination fee established under OAR 830-020-0040 (License, Certificate and Registration Fees), must be received in the office of the Board at least 14 days before the examination is held, or be postmarked before midnight of that date.

(b)

The examination fee will not be returned to an applicant/examinee once the examination begins.

(c)

If an applicant for a death care consultant’s license fails to successfully complete the examination, that person may retake the examination the next time it is given upon payment of the full examination fee. The examination fee must be received in the office of the Board at least 14 days before the examination is given.

(d)

The examinations for death care consultants shall be given at least twice each year.

(e)

Examination results will be distributed within 30 days after the examination.

(f)

Examination questions and answers are not reviewable by examinee pursuant to the Public Records Act, ORS Chapter 162 (Offenses Against the State and Public Justice).

(4)

Renewing Licenses, Lapsed Licenses

(a)

All death care consultant licenses issued will expire two years from the date of licensure unless renewed as provided in this section.

(b)

It is the responsibility of the death care consultant to keep the Board’s office advised, in writing, of any address changes within 30 days of the change.

(c)

At least sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of the death care consultant’s two-year license, the Board will mail to the licensed death care consultant a form stating that the renewal fee is due and payable. The renewal notice will be mailed to the most current address filed with the Board by the death care consultant. If the renewal form is not returned and the renewal fee is not paid by the renewal date the license will lapse.

(d)

Upon lapse of a death care consultant license, the Board will send notice of the lapse to the most current address filed with the Board by the death care consultant.

(e)

The Board may reinstate a lapsed license if the death care consultant applies for reinstatement on a form provided by the Board not later than the 90th day after the lapse and pays the renewal fee as well as the reinstatement fee established in OAR 830-020-0040 (License, Certificate and Registration Fees).
Source

Last accessed
Jun. 8, 2021