Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
Fees and Payments
The Department accepts business checks, money orders, cashier’s checks, and credit cards approved by the Department. Credit card payments may require submission of additional verification information as designated by the Department. The Department does not accept personal checks or cash.
Fees for licensure are due at the time of application.
Amounts due to the Department are non-refundable and non-transferable.
Applicants who choose to withdraw their application or fail to complete the application process forfeit their application fees.
Fees charged by the Department include:
Polygraph Examiner License Fee - $50;
Polygraph Examiner Trainee License Fee - $35;
Examination for Licensure Fee - $50;
Fingerprint Criminal History Check Fee – The current fee for processing a fingerprint criminal history check may be obtained from the Department. This fee is to recover the costs of administering the fingerprint check through the Oregon State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. This fee is separate from and does not apply to any fees charged by a fingerprinting services vendor. An additional fee will be charged for the third submittal of fingerprint cards when rejected for filing by the FBI;
Duplicate or Replacement License Fee - $5; and
Non-sufficient Funds (NSF) Penalty Fee - $25.
If the Department receives a payment by check and the check is returned to the Department as a non-sufficient funds (NSF) check, the payer of the fees will be assessed an NSF penalty fee in addition to the required fees.
Overpayment of Amounts Due.
The Department will reject payments that include an overpayment of the amount due that is $10.01 or more.
The Department may accept payments that include an overpayment of the amount due when the overpaid amount is $10.00 or less.
Overpayment amounts that are $10.00 or less will only be refunded upon receipt of a written request from the person who made the overpayment, or the person’s legal representative. The written request must be received by the Department within three years of the overpayment.