Approved Course of Study for Tattooing
(1)To be approved by the Office, a course of study must include at least 360 hours of instruction. The course must include at least 210 hours of theory and at least 150 hours of practical tattooing experience.
(2)For the purposes of determining qualification for licensure, practical tattooing must include a minimum of 50 completed procedures. “Completed procedure” means a tattoo that has been finished on a live human being, including any touch-ups or additional work following initial healing, and the client is released from service.
(3)All practical tattooing procedures performed during training in the subject areas listed in subsection (4) of this rule are counted toward meeting the minimum 150 hours of practical tattooing experience.
(4)After January 1, 2018, a course of study must include 210 hours of theory in the following areas:
(a)Needles and needle bars: 20 hours;
(b)Tattoo machines: 20 hours;
(c)Equipment/and Supplies: 20 hours;
(d)Safety, and Infection Control: 40 hours;
(e)Color theory and pigments: 10 hours;
(f)Design, art and placement: 10 hours;
(g)Skin: 20 hours;
(h)Client services: 20 hours;
(i)Business operations: 20 hours;
(j)Oregon Laws and Rules: 20 hours; and
(k)Discretionary: 10 hours.
(5)As part of the approved course of study, all hours of theory must be completed prior to practical tattooing being performed on the general public.
(6)Training must be conducted by an Oregon licensed tattoo artist registered as a teacher by the Higher Education Coordinating Commission.
(7)A teacher licensed through the Higher Education Coordination Commission must provide the following supervision during practical training:
(a)One teacher to one student must directly supervise a minimum of the first 10 practical procedures to be performed in no less than 30 days;
(b)One teacher to four students may be indirectly supervised on the last 40 practical procedures.
(8)For the purpose of the rule, indirect supervision means the teacher is onsite and accessible to the student.
Rule 331-915-0007 — Approved Course of Study for Tattooing,