OAR 410-147-0040
ICD-10-CM Diagnosis and CPT/HCPCs Procedure Codes


The appropriate ICD-10-CM diagnosis code or codes from 001.0 through V99.9 must be used to identify:










Complaints; or


Other reasons for the encounter/visit.


The Division of Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) requires diagnosis codes on all claims, including those submitted by independent laboratories and portable radiology, including nuclear medicine and diagnostic ultrasound providers. A clinic must always provide the client’s diagnosis to ancillary service providers when prescribing services, equipment, and supplies.


Clinics must list the principal diagnosis in the first position on the claim. Use the principal diagnosis code for the diagnosis, condition, problem, or other reason for an encounter/visit shown in the medical record to be chiefly responsible for the services provided. Clinics may list up to three additional diagnosis codes on the claim for documented conditions that coexist at the time of the encounter/visit and require or affect client care, treatment, or management.


Clinics must list the diagnosis codes using the highest degree of specificity available in the ICD-10-CM. Use a three-digit diagnosis code only if the diagnosis code is not further subdivided. Whenever fourth-digit or fifth-digit subcategories are provided, the provider must report the diagnosis at that specificity. DMAP considers a diagnosis code invalid if it has not been coded to its highest specificity.


DMAP requires providers to use the standardized code sets required by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and adopted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Unless otherwise directed in rule, providers must accurately code claims according to the national standards in effect for the date the service(s) was provided:


For dental services, use codes that are in effect for the date the service(s) was provided that are found in Dental Procedures and Nomenclature as maintained and distributed by the American Dental Association for dental services;


For health care services, use the combination of Health Care Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) and Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes in effect for the date the service(s) was provided. These services include, but are not limited to, the following:


Physician services;


Physical and occupational therapy services;


Radiology procedures;


Clinical laboratory tests;


Other medical diagnostic procedures;


Hearing and vision services.


DMAP maintains unique coding and claim submission requirements for Administrative Exams and Death with Dignity services. Refer to OAR 410 division 150, Administrative Examination and Billing Services, and 410-130-0670 (Death With Dignity), Death with Dignity Services, for specific requirements.

Source: Rule 410-147-0040 — ICD-10-CM Diagnosis and CPT/HCPCs Procedure Codes, https://secure.­sos.­state.­or.­us/oard/view.­action?ruleNumber=410-147-0040.

Last Updated

Jun. 8, 2021

Rule 410-147-0040’s source at or​.us