Public Utility Commission

ORS 756.014
Public Utility Commission

  • appointment
  • confirmation
  • term
  • removal


There is created the Public Utility Commission of Oregon. The commission shall be composed of three members appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate pursuant to section 4, Article III of the Oregon Constitution. No more than two of such members shall be of the same political party.


Each commissioner shall hold office for the term of four years. A commissioner shall hold office until a successor has been appointed and qualified. The chairperson shall be designated by the Governor and shall serve as chairperson at the pleasure of the Governor.


Any vacancy occurring in the office of commissioner shall be filled by appointment by the Governor to hold office for the balance of the unexpired term.


The Governor may at any time remove a commissioner for any cause deemed by the Governor sufficient. Before such removal the Governor shall give the commissioner a copy of the charges, and shall fix a time when the commissioner can be heard, which shall not be less than 10 days thereafter. The hearing shall be open to the public. If the commissioner is removed, the Governor shall file in the office of the Secretary of State a complete statement of all charges made against the commissioner, and the findings thereon with a record of the proceedings. Such power of removal is absolute, and there is no right of review of the same in any court. [1985 c.834 §2; 1999 c.1102 §1]


Last accessed
May 26, 2023