Pedestrians

ORS 814.600
Failure of skateboarder, scooter rider or in-line skater to wear protective headgear

  • penalty


(1)

A person commits the offense of failure of a skateboarder, scooter rider or in-line skater to wear protective headgear if the person is under 16 years of age, rides on a skateboard or scooter or uses in-line skates on a highway or on premises open to the public and is not wearing protective headgear of a type approved under ORS 815.052 (Rules establishing standards for protective headgear).

(2)

The offense described in this section, failure of a skateboarder, scooter rider or in-line skater to wear protective headgear, is a specific fine traffic violation punishable by a maximum fine of $25. The presumptive fine for failure of a skateboarder, scooter rider or in-line skater to wear protective headgear is $25. [2003 c.106 §1; 2011 c.597 §107]
Note: 814.600 (Failure of skateboarder, scooter rider or in-line skater to wear protective headgear) was enacted into law by the Legislative Assembly but was not added to or made a part of the Oregon Vehicle Code or any chapter or series therein by legislative action. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation.
_______________
Chapter 814

Notes of Decisions

Under Former Similar Statute

A party in violation of a motor vehicle statute is negligent as a matter of law unless he introduces evidence from which the trier of fact could find that he was acting as a reasonably prudent person under the circumstances. Barnum v. Williams, 264 Or 71, 504 P2d 122 (1972)

Law Review Citations

Under Former Similar Statute

10 WLJ 207 (1974)


Source

Last accessed
Jun. 26, 2021