Lost, Unclaimed or Abandoned Property

ORS 98.992
Penalty for failure to report, pay or deliver property under ORS 98.302 to 98.436


A person who willfully fails to render any report, to pay or deliver property or to perform other duties required by ORS 98.302 (Definitions for ORS 98.302 to 98.436) to 98.436 (Short title) and 98.992 (Penalty for failure to report, pay or deliver property under ORS 98.302 to 98.436) may be required to forfeit and pay to the State Treasurer to be deposited in the Common School Fund Account, an amount determined by the Department of State Lands pursuant to ORS 183.745 (Civil penalty procedures) of not more than $1,000 for individuals and $50,000 for corporations. This penalty shall be assessed only after at least one reporting cycle, and only after the department has provided the person with written instructions, including copies of applicable laws and policies. The department may waive any penalty due under this section with appropriate justification. [1993 c.694 §25]
Note: The amendments to 98.992 (Penalty for failure to report, pay or deliver property under ORS 98.302 to 98.436) by section 30, chapter 678, Oregon Laws 2019, become operative July 1, 2021. See section 85, chapter 678, Oregon Laws 2019. The text that is operative on and after July 1, 2021, is set forth for the user’s convenience.
98.992 (Penalty for failure to report, pay or deliver property under ORS 98.302 to 98.436). A person who willfully fails to render any report, to pay or deliver property or to perform other duties required by ORS 98.302 (Definitions for ORS 98.302 to 98.436) to 98.436 (Short title) and 98.992 (Penalty for failure to report, pay or deliver property under ORS 98.302 to 98.436) may be required to forfeit and pay to the State Treasurer to be deposited in the Common School Fund Account, an amount determined by the State Treasurer pursuant to ORS 183.745 (Civil penalty procedures) of not more than $1,000 for individuals and $50,000 for corporations. This penalty shall be assessed only after at least one reporting cycle, and only after the State Treasurer has provided the person with written instructions, including copies of applicable laws and policies. The State Treasurer may waive any penalty due under this section with appropriate justification.
_______________

Source

Last accessed
Jun. 26, 2021