OAR 123-475-0015
Selection Committee


Intentionally left blank —Ed.


A Selection Committee shall be established for each Program Project. The Selection Committee, on behalf of the Designated Agencies, shall determine the scope, direction, and particular needs of the Project. Except as provided in subsection (b) of this rule, the Selection Committee is solely responsible for artist selection, review of design, execution, placement and acceptance of Works of Art, and shall communicate such progress to the Designated Agencies.


Exception to sole responsibility for review: The Oregon Arts Commission and the Contracting Agency shall identify other review bodies whose oversight may be required by law or agency policy including, without limitation, state or local historic preservation committees, city design review committees and formalized campus design committees. In such cases, the Selection Committee’s recommendation will be submitted for review and approval by these bodies prior to execution of any contracts for Works of Art.


Informal committees established by any of the Designated Agencies, such as user groups of a Project, shall be kept informed of Selection Committee progress, but have no role in approval of the Selection Committee’s recommendations. The Designated Agency that establishes an informal committee is responsible for notifying the Selection Committee of the establishment of the informal committee.


The Selection Committee shall consist of up to nine members designated by the Oregon Arts Commission as follows:


The Project Architect;


The Director of the Oregon Arts Commission or designee thereof;


Up to three visual artists or other design professionals appointed by the Oregon Arts Commission (the selection of the design professionals will be made after consultation with the resident agency). The Arts Commission shall strive to appoint Selection Committee members with varied perspectives, including multicultural representation;


The Director of the contracting agency, or designee thereof, most appropriately the planning/construction project manager;


The Chair of the Capitol Planning Advisory Board, or the Chair’s designee, if the project is in Marion or Polk County area (ORS 276 .028);


Up to one representative of each resident agency, or in the case of a University, each program, college or school with significant use of the facility;


Such other people who qualify and are approved by the Designated Agencies.


Up to 5 Non-Voting Advisors may be appointed by the Contracting Agency and Resident Agency of the facility to serve on the screening committee and may include: students, museum director, curator, educator, art historian, collector, and concerned members of the community, or other qualified individuals


Chairman of the Selection Committee: The Public Arts Coordinator of the Oregon Arts Commission shall serve as non-voting chairman.


Voting: Each member of the Selection Committee designated pursuant to Section (2) of this rule will have one vote. A majority vote of members present shall determine the selection recommendations to be made to the Designated Agencies. At least one-half of the members of the Selection Committee must be present to have a vote.

Source: Rule 123-475-0015 — Selection Committee, https://secure.­sos.­state.­or.­us/oard/view.­action?ruleNumber=123-475-0015.

Last Updated

Jun. 8, 2021

Rule 123-475-0015’s source at or​.us