Oregon Parks and Recreation Department

Rule Rule 736-015-0015
Reservations


(1)

Purpose: Based on the department’s goal to promote outdoor recreation in Oregon, the department established a reservation program to increase use of park areas and facilities. The director may designate specific park facilities to offer for reservation.

(2)

General Regulations:

(a)

Reservations will be accepted and processed for designated park facilities through the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center and the Internet.

(b)

A person may make a reservation a maximum of eighteen months prior to the arrival date. Reservations over one year prior to arrival date will be limited to groups or special events or special facilities as designated by the director or designee.

(c)

A person must be 18 years of age or older to make an overnight reservation.

(d)

A person who qualifies under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) may reserve accessible campsites.

(e)

A person may not make reservations for multiple park areas for the same date range.

(f)

A person reserving a boat slip (where available) must also reserve another facility at the same park area.

(g)

Reservations and registrations for horse camping sites shall be made only for people camping with their horses or similar large animals unless otherwise specified by the park manager.

(h)

Only the person whose name appears on the original reservation, their designee (as documented in the reservation records) or the primary occupant may change or cancel an existing reservation or access information associated with a reservation.

(A)

A person reserving a site for another individual or group must provide the contact information of an individual occupying the site to the park manager or designee at least 72 hours prior to the start of the reservation or the reservation may be cancelled.

(B)

Individuals reserving the site are responsible for all activities of users of the site under OAR 736-010-0050 (Overnight Use)(11).

(i)

Customer information may be made available upon written request in compliance with ORS chapter 192 and department policy.

(j)

Specific information regarding a confirmed reservation will not be released to the public as provided in ORS 192.345 (Public records conditionally exempt from disclosure) and 192.355 (Public records exempt from disclosure).

(3)

Transaction Fees and Deposits:

(a)

The department will charge a $0-15 non-refundable transaction fee for each reservation. Exact fee amounts will be detailed on the department’s website which is available seven days a week, 24 hours a day. Fees will vary based on costs incurred by the department for reservation services. Changes in fees authorized by the director will be posted on the website a minimum of 30 days prior to the effective date.

(b)

Reservations require a facility deposit equal to the full amount charged for use of the facility during the reservation period.

(c)

All fees are due at the time the person makes the reservation.

(4)

Payment Methods:

(a)

A person may use an acceptable payment method. The department will post acceptable payment methods on the Oregon State Parks website.

(b)

A person may pay for reservations made through the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center by department issued gift certificates if the person’s arrival date is ten or more days from the time the reservation is made.

(c)

The department must receive payment within five calendar days of the date the person makes the reservation. If payment is not received within this time frame, the department will cancel the reservation. The person remains responsible for the transaction fee for each reservation request.

(d)

If a banking institution returns a check to the department for any reason or if a credit or debit card is declined, the department will attempt to contact the person. Inability to resolve the payment dispute will result in a reservation cancellation. The person will remain responsible for the transaction fee for each reservation.

(e)

Government agencies and non-profit entities may request to be invoiced for services. Reservations should be made at least 30 days prior to arrival. The department must receive payment within 25 days of the date the reservation is made. If payment is not received within this time frame, the department will cancel the reservation. The government agency or non-profit entity remains responsible for the transaction fee for each reservation request.

(f)

A person must pay all outstanding account balances prior to making future reservations or camping overnight in a park area.

(g)

A person excluded from a park area may have reservations cancelled and may not make additional reservations during their exclusion period.

(5)

Reservation Cancellations:

(a)

A person may cancel their reservation prior to the day of arrival.

(b)

The department will post detailed instructions for cancelling a reservation on the department’s web site which is available seven days a week, 24 hours a day.

(c)

To cancel a reservation on the day of arrival a person may contact the specific park where their reservation is held.

(d)

In order to receive a refund of all use fees, a person must cancel the reservation for individual campsites, deluxe and rustic cabins, deluxe and rustic yurts, horse camps, tepees, and boat moorages three or more days prior to the arrival date. If the cancellation is received less than three days in advance of the arrival date, a fee equal to one overnight rental fee for the facility will be forfeited.

(e)

In order to receive a refund of all use fees for group camps, day use areas, meeting halls, lodges, Silver Falls Youth Camp, Shore Acres Garden House, Pavilions, RV Group Areas and other facilities as designated by the department, a person must cancel the reservation at least one month prior to arrival. If the cancellation request is received less than 30 days in advance of the arrival date, a fee equal to one night’s or one day’s rental for the facility will be forfeited.

(f)

A person may not cancel reservations more than eight months in advance of the arrival date.

(6)

Reservation Changes:

(a)

The department will charge a $0-15 non-refundable transaction fee for each reservation change. Exact fee amounts will be detailed on the department’s website which is available seven days a week, 24 hours a day. Fees will vary based on costs incurred by the department for reservation services. Changes in fees authorized by the director will be posted on the website a minimum of 30 days prior to the effective date.

(b)

A person may request to change a confirmed reservation by calling the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center.

(c)

A person may not make any date changes to reservations more than eight months in advance of the arrival date.

(d)

Reservations made for six or more consecutive nights that are later shortened will be charged the nightly rate for each night removed in addition to a transaction fee for the change. This rule applies to shortening nights at the beginning of a reservation, not at the end of a reservation.

(e)

A person must request a reservation change for campsites, deluxe and rustic cabins, deluxe and rustic yurts, tepees, and boat moorages three or more days in advance of the arrival date. Changes are not permitted within three days of the arrival date.

(f)

A person requesting a reservation change for group camps, day use areas, meeting halls, lodges, Silver Falls Youth Camp, Shore Acres Garden House, Pavilions, RV Group Areas, and other facilities as designated by the department must request the change at least 30 days prior to arrival date. Changes are not permitted within 30 days of the arrival date.

(7)

Claiming Reservations

(a)

Customers with confirmed reservations must arrive before 1:00 p.m. the day following the first scheduled day of their reservation.

(b)

The reserved site must remain occupied each night during the entire length of stay.

(c)

In emergency situations, customers may request park manager approval for late arrivals not to exceed 6:00 p.m. of the second day of the reservation. Site fees for the first night will be charged regardless of the arrival time.

(d)

Customers, including those that have pre-registered, who do not check in at the park or notify park staff that they will be delayed prior to 1:00 p.m. of the second day of the reservation will be considered a “no show” and the entire reservation will be cancelled. The first night fee and any transaction fees previously collected for the reservation will be retained. Any remaining nightly fees paid to confirm the reservation will be refunded.
Source

Last accessed
Jun. 8, 2021