Public Universities

ORS 352.011
Establishment of certain public universities as comprehensive universities

  • award of professional doctoral degree


As used in this section, “professional doctoral degree” means a first professional degree, excluding a Doctor of Philosophy degree, that:


Represents a category of qualifications in a professional subject area that requires students to have previously completed specified undergraduate coursework or obtained previous undergraduate degrees before enrolling in the professional doctoral degree granting program; and


Is awarded upon completion of a program that provides the knowledge and skills for the recognition, credential or license required for professional practice.


Western Oregon University, Southern Oregon University and Eastern Oregon University are established as comprehensive universities that offer a full range of baccalaureate programs and graduate programs through the master’s degree and the professional doctoral degree. [Formerly 352.355; 2021 c.101 §1]


Last accessed
May 26, 2023