Violations and Fines

ORS 153.020
Presumptive fines

  • highway work zones, school zones and safety corridors


(1)

If a person is charged with a traffic violation, as defined in ORS 801.557 (“Traffic violation”), and the enforcement officer issuing the citation notes on the citation that the offense occurred in a highway work zone and is subject to the provisions of ORS 811.230 (Definitions), occurred in a posted school zone and is subject to the provisions of ORS 811.235 (Fine for traffic offenses in school zones), or occurred in a safety corridor and is subject to the provisions of ORS 811.483 (Safety corridors) or section 2, chapter 501, Oregon Laws 2019, the presumptive fine for the violation is:

(a)

$875 for a Class A violation.

(b)

$525 for a Class B violation.

(c)

$325 for a Class C violation.

(d)

$225 for a Class D violation.

(2)

Any surcharge imposed under ORS 1.188 (Surcharge on fines for courthouse) shall be added to and made a part of the presumptive fine. [2011 c.597 §3; 2012 c.89 §10; 2016 c.78 §4; 2017 c.712 §2; 2019 c.501 §3]
Note: The amendments to 153.020 (Presumptive fines) by section 4, chapter 501, Oregon Laws 2019, become operative January 2, 2026. See section 5, chapter 501, Oregon Laws 2019. The text that is operative on and after January 2, 2026, is set forth for the user’s convenience.
153.020 (Presumptive fines). (1) If a person is charged with a traffic violation, as defined in ORS 801.557 (“Traffic violation”), and the enforcement officer issuing the citation notes on the citation that the offense occurred in a highway work zone and is subject to the provisions of ORS 811.230 (Definitions), occurred in a posted school zone and is subject to the provisions of ORS 811.235 (Fine for traffic offenses in school zones), or occurred in a safety corridor and is subject to the provisions of ORS 811.483 (Safety corridors), the presumptive fine for the violation is:

(a)

$875 for a Class A violation.

(b)

$525 for a Class B violation.

(c)

$325 for a Class C violation.

(d)

$225 for a Class D violation.

(2)

Any surcharge imposed under ORS 1.188 (Surcharge on fines for courthouse) shall be added to and made a part of the presumptive fine.

Source

Last accessed
Jun. 26, 2021