Highway Lighting Districts

ORS 372.200
District commissioners

  • qualifications
  • appointment


The power given to districts, except as otherwise provided by this chapter, is vested in and shall be exercised by a board of five commissioners. Except as provided by ORS 372.210 (Organization), each commissioner shall be appointed to serve for a term of four years. The order by which the county board proclaims the formation of the district shall appoint five commissioners to serve as the first board of the district.


Each commissioner shall be an elector of the district.


Notwithstanding subsection (2) of this section, if there are fewer than 10 electors registered in the district, the county board may appoint as commissioner any owner of land within the district who also is an elector of the state as defined in ORS 246.012 (Definitions). [Amended by 1971 c.514 §20; 1983 c.48 §1]


Last accessed
Jun. 26, 2021