Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services, Insurance Regulation

Rule Rule 836-200-0555
Assessments Against Prescription Drug Manufacturers


(1)

Once annually, no later than October 1, all reporting manufacturers will pay an assessment of $400. The director may by order reduce the fees assessed for any specific year.

(2)

Once annually, no later than October 1, reporting manufacturers that have filed one or more reports under OAR 836-200-0515 (Threshold for Reporting Drug Price Increase) to 836-200-0530 (Form and Manner Requirements for Drug Pricing Reporting) between August 1 of the previous year and July 31 of the current year must pay an additional assessment for each report filed.

(3)

For the purposes of subsection (2), the director shall determine the amount of the assessment by subtracting the revenue collected under subsection (1) from the amount of revenue needed to cover the department’s estimated expenses in administering Oregon Laws 2018, chapter 7, section 2 and OAR 836-200-0500 (Purpose and Statutory Authority) to 836-200-0550 (Consumer Notices to the Department), and dividing the resulting amount by the total number of filings subject to assessment between August 1 of the previous year and July 31 of the current year. The director shall determine the amount of revenue needed by considering the legislatively approved expenditures for administration of Oregon Laws 2018, chapter 7, section 2 and OAR 836-200-0500 (Purpose and Statutory Authority) to 836-200-0555 (Assessments Against Prescription Drug Manufacturers), as well as the timing of cash revenues and expenditures.
(4) The revenue collected under subsections (1) and (2) of this section must be used solely for expenses incurred in the administration of Oregon Laws 2018, chapter 7, section 2 and OAR 836-200-0500 (Purpose and Statutory Authority) to 836-200-0555 (Assessments Against Prescription Drug Manufacturers).

(5)

A manufacturer must pay each assessment imposed under this rule no later than 30 days after the date of the assessment by the department. A manufacturer must pay interest at nine percent per annum on any assessment that is not paid when due.
Source

Last accessed
Jun. 8, 2021