State Department of Agriculture

ORS 561.395
Soil and Water Conservation Commission

  • membership
  • compensation and expenses
  • forfeiture of office
  • functions


In order that there may be the closest contact between the State Department of Agriculture and the various soil and water conservation districts in the state, and in order to keep the department advised as to matters of soil and water conservation in the state, there is created a Soil and Water Conservation Commission which shall consist of seven members appointed by the Director of Agriculture.


Each member shall be a citizen of this state and a director of a soil and water conservation district at the time of appointment. As far as practicable, the Director of Agriculture shall make appointments so that geographic areas of the state are represented on the commission. The term of each member shall be four years. A member shall continue to serve until a successor is appointed and qualified. Vacancies in office shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term.


The members shall be entitled to compensation as provided in ORS 292.495 (Compensation and expenses of members of state boards and commissions). At the first meeting after July 1 of each year the commission shall select a chairperson. The commission shall meet at least four times each year on a quarterly basis, and otherwise at the call of the chairperson or the Director of Agriculture. A majority of the members shall constitute a quorum, and a majority vote of the quorum at any meeting shall constitute an official act of the commission.


Any member of the commission who fails to attend three consecutive meetings of the commission, whether regular, adjourned or special, shall forfeit the office unless the member is prevented from attending by the serious illness of the member or the member’s family or for any other cause that in the judgment of the director constitutes a valid reason for failing to attend. The director shall immediately appoint a successor.


The function of the commission is to advise and develop policy with the department in the administration of its duties and powers under ORS 561.400 (Natural Resources Division), 568.210 (Definitions for ORS 568.210 to 568.808 and 568.900 to 568.933) to 568.808 (Taxing district to file legal description and map) and 568.900 (Definitions for ORS 568.900 to 568.933) to 568.933 (Civil penalties). [1981 c.92 §2; 2005 c.24 §5]


Last accessed
Jun. 26, 2021