Vehicle Title and Registration

ORS 803.091
Title fees based on miles per gallon


(1)

As used in this section, “miles per gallon” or “MPG” means the distance traveled in a vehicle powered by one gallon of fuel.

(2)

The Department of Transportation shall determine the combined MPG ratings for each motor vehicle pursuant to a method determined by the department.

(3)

In addition to the title fees prescribed under ORS 803.090 (Fees for certificate of title) (1)(c), during the period beginning on January 1, 2018, and ending on December 31, 2019, there shall be paid an additional amount of $16.

(4)

In addition to the title fees prescribed under ORS 803.090 (Fees for certificate of title) (1)(c), during the period beginning on January 1, 2020, and ending on December 31, 2021, there shall be paid an additional amount as follows:

(a)

For vehicles that have a rating of 0-19 MPG or nonmotorized vehicles, $21.

(b)

For vehicles that have a rating of 20-39 MPG, $26.

(c)

For vehicles that have a rating of 40 MPG or greater, $36.

(d)

For electric vehicles, $110. [2017 c.750 §37]
Note: The amendments to 803.091 (Title fees based on miles per gallon) by section 38, chapter 750, Oregon Laws 2017, become operative January 1, 2022, and apply to fees imposed on or after January 1, 2022. See section 39, chapter 750, Oregon Laws 2017, and section 139, chapter 750, Oregon Laws 2017, as amended by section 31, chapter 93, Oregon Laws 2018. The text that is operative on and after January 1, 2022, is set forth for the user’s convenience.
803.091 (Title fees based on miles per gallon). (1) As used in this section, “miles per gallon” or “MPG” means the distance traveled in a vehicle powered by one gallon of fuel.

(2)

The Department of Transportation shall determine the combined MPG ratings for each motor vehicle pursuant to a method determined by the department.

(3)

In addition to the title fees prescribed under ORS 803.090 (Fees for certificate of title) (1)(c), there shall be paid an additional amount as follows:

(a)

For vehicles that have a rating of 0-19 MPG or nonmotorized vehicles, $24.

(b)

For vehicles that have a rating of 20-39 MPG, $29.

(c)

For vehicles that have a rating of 40 MPG or greater, $39.

(d)

For electric vehicles, $115.
Note: 803.091 (Title fees based on miles per gallon) was added to and made a part of the Oregon Vehicle Code by legislative action but was not added to ORS chapter 803 or any series therein. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation.
Chapter 803

Atty. Gen. Opinions

Application of Article XI, section 11b of Oregon Constitution to fees imposed under this chapter, (1991) Vol 46, p 447


Source

Last accessed
Jun. 26, 2021