Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services, Workers' Compensation Division

Rule Rule 436-060-0150
Timely Payment of Compensation


(1) General. Benefits are considered paid when addressed to the last known address of the worker or beneficiary and deposited in the U.S. Mail, or when funds are transferred to a financial institution for deposit in the worker’s or beneficiary’s account by approved electronic equivalent. Payments due on a weekend or legal holiday under ORS 187.010 (Legal holidays) and 187.020 (Additional legal holidays) may be paid on the last working day before, or the first working day after, the weekend or legal holiday. Subsequent payments may revert back to the payment schedule in place before the weekend or legal holiday.
(2) Holidays. For the purpose of this rule, legal holidays in the State of Oregon are:
(a) Each Sunday;
(b) New Year’s Day on January 1;
(c) Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday on the third Monday in January;
(d) Presidents Day on the third Monday in February;
(e) Memorial Day on the last Monday in May;
(f) Independence Day on July 4;
(g) Labor Day on the first Monday in September;
(h) Veterans Day on November 11;
(i) Thanksgiving Day on the fourth Thursday in November;
(j) Christmas Day on December 25;
(k) Each time a holiday, other than Sunday, falls on Sunday, the succeeding Monday;
(l) Each time a holiday falls on Saturday, the preceding Friday; and
(m) Every day appointed by the Governor as a legal holiday and every day appointed by the President of the United States as a day of mourning, rejoicing or other special observance only when the Governor also appoints that day as a holiday.
(3) Withheld compensation. Compensation withheld under ORS 656.268 (Claim closure)(13) and (14), and ORS 656.596 (Damage recovery as offset against compensation)(2), will not be considered late if the insurer notifies the worker in writing why benefits are being withheld and the amount that must be offset before any further benefits are payable.
(4) Timely payment of temporary disability. Insurers must timely process the first payment of temporary disability compensation. The first payment of temporary disability on a claim must also include all temporary disability benefits due as of the date of payment, unless there is a reasonable basis to exclude those benefits at the time the payment issued. The director may assess a penalty under OAR 436-060-0200 (Assessment of Civil Penalties) against an insurer that does not make the first payment of temporary disability under the time frames of this section, or does not accurately report timeliness of first payment information.
(a) The payment of temporary disability benefits must be made no later than the 14th day after:
(A) The date of the employer’s notice or knowledge of the claim and of the worker’s disability, if the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner has authorized temporary disability compensation. Temporary disability accrued before the date of the employer’s notice or knowledge of the claim is due within 14 days of claim acceptance;
(B) The date the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner authorizes temporary disability, if the authorization is more than 14 days after the date of the employer’s notice or knowledge of the claim and of the worker’s disability;
(C) The start of authorized vocational training under ORS 656.268 (Claim closure)(10), if the insurer has previously closed the claim;
(D) The date the insurer receives medical evidence supported by objective findings that shows the worker is unable to work due to a worsening of the compensable condition under ORS 656.273 (Aggravation for worsened conditions);
(E) The date of any director’s order, including, but not limited to, a reconsideration order, that orders payment of temporary disability. If the insurer has appealed a reconsideration order, the appeal stays payment of temporary disability benefits except those that accrue from the date of the order, under ORS 656.313 (Stay of compensation pending request for hearing or review);
(F) The date of a notice of claim closure issued by the insurer that finds the worker entitled to temporary disability;
(G) The date a notice of closure is set aside by a reconsideration order;
(H) The date any litigation authorizing retroactive temporary disability becomes final. Temporary disability accruing from the date of the order must begin no later than the 14th day after the date the order is filed. For the purpose of this rule, the “date the order is filed” for litigation from the board is the signature date, and from the courts, it is the date of the appellate judgment;
(I) The date the director refers a claim to the insurer for processing under ORS 656.029 (Obligation of person awarding contract to provide coverage for workers under contract);
(J) The date the director refers a noncomplying employer claim to an assigned claims agent under ORS 656.054 (Claim of injured worker of noncomplying employer);
(K) The date a claim disposition agreement is disapproved by the Worker’s Compensation Board or administrative law judge, if temporary disability benefits are otherwise due;
(L) The date the director designates a paying agent under ORS 656.307 (Determination of issues regarding responsibility for compensation payment);
(M) The date a claim is reclassified from nondisabling to disabling, if temporary disability is due and payable; or
(N) The date an insurer voluntarily rescinds a denial of a disabling claim.
(b) Subsequent payments of temporary disability benefits must:
(A) Be made at least once each 14 days, unless the employer is making payments under OAR 436-060-0020 (Payment of Temporary Total Disability Compensation)(1) and the payments are made concurrently with the payroll schedule of the employer; and
(B) Include all benefits due for the period ending no more than seven days before the payment date.
(5) Timely payment of permanent disability.
(a) The first payment of permanent disability must be paid no later than the 30th day after:
(A) The date of a notice of claim closure issued by the insurer;
(B) The date of any litigation order that orders payment of permanent total disability. Permanent total disability benefits accruing from the date of the order must begin no later than the 30th day after the date the order is filed. For the purpose of this rule, the “date the order is filed” for litigation from the board is the signature date, and from the courts, it is the date of the appellate judgment;
(C) The date of any director’s order, including, but not limited to, a reconsideration order, that orders payment of compensation for permanent disability;
(D) The date any litigation order authorizing permanent partial disability becomes final;
(E) The date a claim disposition agreement is disapproved by the board or administrative law judge, if permanent disability benefits are otherwise due; or
(F) The date authorized training ends if the worker is medically stationary and any previous award remains unpaid, under ORS 656.268 (Claim closure)(10) and OAR 436-060-0040 (Payment of Permanent Partial Disability Compensation)(3).
(b) Subsequent payments of permanent disability must be made on a regular and predictable monthly schedule.
(A) The insurer may adjust the monthly payment schedule, but must inform the worker or beneficiary before making the adjustment.
(B) No payment period may exceed one month without the director’s approval.
(6) Timely payment of death benefits.
(a) Payment of bills submitted under OAR 436-060-0075 (Payment of Death Benefits)(1) must be made no later than the 30th day after the date of the insurer’s receipt the bill, or the date of claim acceptance, whichever is later.
(b) The first payment of monthly benefits to eligible beneficiaries under OAR 436-060-0075 (Payment of Death Benefits) must be paid no later than the 30th day after:
(A) The date of a notice of acceptance issued by the insurer; or
(B) The date of any litigation order that orders death benefits. Death benefits accruing from the date of the order must begin no later than the 30th day after:
(i) The signature date of an order from the board; or
(ii) The date of an appellate judgment from the courts.
(c) Subsequent payments of monthly benefits to eligible beneficiaries under OAR 436-060-0075 (Payment of Death Benefits) must be made on a regular and predictable schedule, subject to the following:
(A) The insurer may adjust the monthly payment schedule, but must inform the beneficiary before making the adjustment; and
(B) No payment period may exceed one month without the director’s approval.
(d) Notwithstanding subsection (c), the insurer may make a payment in advance with the consent of the beneficiary.
(e) Payment of monthly benefits due to a worker’s death during a period of permanent total disability under OAR 436-060-0075 (Payment of Death Benefits)(7) must follow the monthly schedule established under subsection (5)(b) of this rule.
(7) Notice to worker or beneficiary regarding payments. The insurer must provide an explanation in writing to the worker or beneficiary when the benefit amount, time period covered, or payment schedule changes, and must:
(a) Notify the worker or beneficiary in writing of the specific purpose and the time period covered by each payment of temporary disability benefits; and
(b) Notify the worker or beneficiary in writing of the specific purpose of the payment, the schedule of future payments, and the time period each payment will cover with the first payment of permanent disability or death benefits. The insurer is not required to provide an explanation in writing with each subsequent permanent disability or death benefit payment.
(8) Maintenance of records. The insurer must maintain records of compensation paid for each claim in which benefits are due and payable.
(9) Request for reimbursement. If the worker submits a request for reimbursement of multiple items and full reimbursement is not made, the insurer must provide specific reasons for nonpayment or reduction of each item.
(10) Claim disposition agreements. Any amounts due under a claim disposition agreement must be paid no later than the 14th day after the board or administrative law judge provides notice of its approval under OAR 438-009-0028 (Announcement of CDA Approval Order), unless otherwise stated in the agreement.
(11) Claims under other jurisdictions. When a worker has a claim under the workers’ compensation law of another state, territory, province or foreign nation for the same injury or occupational disease as the claim filed in Oregon:
(a) The worker is entitled to the full amount of compensation due under Oregon law;
(b) The total amount paid or awarded under the other jurisdiction’s law must be credited against the compensation due under Oregon law;
(c) If Oregon compensation is more than the compensation paid or awarded under the other jurisdiction’s law, or compensation paid the worker under another law is recovered from the worker, the insurer must pay any unpaid compensation to the worker up to the amount required by the claim under Oregon law;
(d) Upon learning that the worker has a claim under the jurisdiction of another workers’ compensation law, the insurer must request written documentation of the amount paid or awarded to the worker; and
(e) Payment under this section is due within 14 days of receipt of written documentation supporting the underpayment of Oregon compensation.
Source

Last accessed
Jun. 8, 2021