Oregon Judgment and Execution; Parole and Probation by the Court
ORS 137.705
Definitions; adult prosecution of certain juvenile offenders


(1)

(a) As used in this section and ORS 137.707 (Mandatory minimum sentences for certain juvenile offenders waived to adult court):

(A)

“Charged” means the filing of an accusatory instrument in a court of criminal jurisdiction.

(B)

“Detention facility” has the meaning given that term in ORS 419A.004 (Definitions).

(C)

“Prosecuted” includes pretrial and trial procedures, requirements and limitations provided for in criminal cases.

(b)

Unless otherwise provided in ORS 137.707 (Mandatory minimum sentences for certain juvenile offenders waived to adult court), ORS chapters 137 and 138 apply to proceedings under ORS 137.707 (Mandatory minimum sentences for certain juvenile offenders waived to adult court).

(2)

(a) If the juvenile court enters an order of waiver under ORS 419C.349 (Grounds for waiving youth to adult court) (1)(a), the person waived may be charged with the commission of an offense listed in ORS 137.707 (Mandatory minimum sentences for certain juvenile offenders waived to adult court) and may be prosecuted as an adult. The person may be detained in custody only in a detention facility, unless the person is 16 or 17 years of age and the director of the county juvenile department and the sheriff agree to detain the person in a jail or other place where adults are detained. A person detained in accordance with this paragraph is subject to release on the same terms and conditions as for adults.

(b)

If a person waived under ORS 419C.349 (Grounds for waiving youth to adult court) (1)(a) is under 16 years of age, the person may not be detained before conviction, or after conviction but before execution of the sentence, in a jail or other place where adults are detained. [1995 c.422 §48; 2011 c.122 §1; 2019 c.634 §4]
Note: Section 32, chapter 634, Oregon Laws 2019, provides:
Sec. 32. (1) Sections 24 [161.740 (Sentencing of juvenile offenders)] and 25 [144.397 (Release eligibility for juvenile offenders after 15 years of imprisonment)], chapter 634, Oregon Laws 2019, and the amendments to ORS 137.071 (Requirements for judgment documents), 137.124 (Commitment of defendant to Department of Corrections or county), 137.705 (Definitions), 137.707 (Mandatory minimum sentences for certain juvenile offenders waived to adult court), 137.712 (Exceptions to ORS 137.700 and 137.707), 144.185 (Records and information available to board), 161.610 (Enhanced penalty for use of firearm during commission of felony), 161.620 (Sentences imposed upon waiver), 163.105 (Sentencing options for aggravated murder), 163.115 (Murder in the second degree), 163.155 (Sentencing for murder of pregnant victim), 163A.130 (Relief from reporting obligation for juvenile offenders adjudicated in Oregon), 163A.135 (Relief from reporting obligation for juvenile offenders adjudicated in another United States jurisdiction), 339.317 (Notice to school district of person charged with crime), 339.319 (Notice to school district of person convicted of crime), 339.321 (Notice to school district and law enforcement agencies of release or discharge of person), 419C.005 (Jurisdiction), 419C.050 (Transfer to juvenile court from another court), 419C.346 (Juvenile court’s retention of authority over parent), 419C.349 (Grounds for waiving youth to adult court), 419C.352 (Grounds for waiving youth under 15 years of age), 419C.355 (Written findings required), 419C.358 (Consolidation of nonwaivable and waivable charges), 419C.361 (Disposition of nonwaivable consolidated charges and lesser included offenses), 420.011 (Admissions to youth correction facilities), 420.081 (Population limits) and 420A.203 (Eligibility for second look) and section 3, chapter 635, Oregon Laws 2019 [163.107 (Murder in the first degree)], by sections 1 to 23 and 26 to 29, chapter 634, Oregon Laws 2019, and section 3a, chapter 635, Oregon Laws 2019, apply to sentences imposed on or after January 1, 2020.

(2)

Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, sections 24 and 25, chapter 634, Oregon Laws 2019, and the amendments to ORS 137.071 (Requirements for judgment documents), 137.124 (Commitment of defendant to Department of Corrections or county), 137.705 (Definitions), 137.707 (Mandatory minimum sentences for certain juvenile offenders waived to adult court), 137.712 (Exceptions to ORS 137.700 and 137.707), 144.185 (Records and information available to board), 161.610 (Enhanced penalty for use of firearm during commission of felony), 161.620 (Sentences imposed upon waiver), 163.105 (Sentencing options for aggravated murder), 163.115 (Murder in the second degree), 163.155 (Sentencing for murder of pregnant victim), 163A.130 (Relief from reporting obligation for juvenile offenders adjudicated in Oregon), 163A.135 (Relief from reporting obligation for juvenile offenders adjudicated in another United States jurisdiction), 339.317 (Notice to school district of person charged with crime), 339.319 (Notice to school district of person convicted of crime), 339.321 (Notice to school district and law enforcement agencies of release or discharge of person), 419C.005 (Jurisdiction), 419C.050 (Transfer to juvenile court from another court), 419C.346 (Juvenile court’s retention of authority over parent), 419C.349 (Grounds for waiving youth to adult court), 419C.352 (Grounds for waiving youth under 15 years of age), 419C.355 (Written findings required), 419C.358 (Consolidation of nonwaivable and waivable charges), 419C.361 (Disposition of nonwaivable consolidated charges and lesser included offenses), 420.011 (Admissions to youth correction facilities), 420.081 (Population limits) and 420A.203 (Eligibility for second look) and section 3, chapter 635, Oregon Laws 2019, by sections 1 to 23 and 26 to 29, chapter 634, Oregon Laws 2019, and section 3a, chapter 635, Oregon Laws 2019, do not apply to persons who were originally sentenced before January 1, 2020, and who are subsequently resentenced on or after January 1, 2020, as the result of an appellate decision or a post-conviction relief proceeding or for any other reason. [2019 c.634 §32; 2019 c.635 §3c; 2019 c.685 §4]
Note: See second note under 137.700 (Offenses requiring imposition of mandatory minimum sentences).
Source
Last accessed
May. 15, 2020