ORS 90.732
Landlord registration; registration fee


(1)

Every landlord of a manufactured dwelling park shall register annually in writing with the Housing and Community Services Department. The department shall charge the landlord a registration fee of $100 for parks with more than 20 spaces and $50 for parks with 20 or fewer spaces. The landlord shall file a registration and pay a registration fee for each park owned or managed by the landlord. The registration shall consist of the following information:

(a)

The name and business mailing address of the landlord and of any person authorized to manage the premises of the park.

(b)

The name of the park.

(c)

The physical address of the park and, if different from the physical address, the mailing address.

(d)

A telephone number of the park.

(e)

The total number of spaces in the park.

(2)

The landlord of a new manufactured dwelling park shall register with the department no later than 60 days after the opening of the park.

(3)

The department shall send a written reminder notice to each landlord that holds a current registration under this section before the due date for the landlord to file a new registration. The department shall confirm receipt of a registration.

(4)

Notwithstanding subsections (1) to (3) of this section, the department may provide for registration and confirmation of registration to be accomplished by electronic means instead of in writing.

(5)

Moneys from registration fees described in subsection (1) of this section must be deposited in the Manufactured and Marina Communities Account. [2005 c.619 §2; 2007 c.906 §38; 2009 c.816 §10; 2015 c.217 §3; 2019 c.625 §5]
Note: The amendments to 90.732 (Landlord registration) by section 18, chapter 625, Oregon Laws 2019, become operative January 1, 2022. See section 21, chapter 625, Oregon Laws 2019. The text that is operative on and after January 1, 2022, is set forth for the user’s convenience.
90.732 (Landlord registration). (1) Every landlord of a facility shall register annually in writing with the Housing and Community Services Department. The department shall charge the landlord a registration fee of $100 for facilities with more than 20 spaces and $50 for facilities with 20 or fewer spaces. The landlord shall file a registration and pay a registration fee for each facility owned or managed by the landlord. The registration shall consist of the following information:

(a)

The name and business mailing address of the landlord and of any person authorized to manage the premises of the facility.

(b)

The name of the facility.

(c)

The physical address of the facility and, if different from the physical address, the mailing address.

(d)

A telephone number of the facility.

(e)

The total number of spaces in the facility.

(2)

The landlord of a new facility shall register with the department no later than 60 days after the opening of the facility.

(3)

The department shall send a written reminder notice to each landlord that holds a current registration under this section before the due date for the landlord to file a new registration. The department shall confirm receipt of a registration.

(4)

Notwithstanding subsections (1) to (3) of this section, the department may provide for registration and confirmation of registration to be accomplished by electronic means instead of in writing.

(5)

Moneys from registration fees described in subsection (1) of this section must be deposited in the Manufactured and Marina Communities Account.
Chapter 90

Notes of Decisions

The prevailing party in an action brought under this Act is entitled to attorney fees. Executive Management v. Juckett, 274 Or 515, 547 P2d 603 (1976)

Damages for mental distress are not recoverable under this Act. Ficker v. Diefenbach, 34 Or App 241, 578 P2d 467 (1978), as modified by 35 Or App 829, 578 P2d 467 (1978)

Where tenant terminates residential tenancy but then holds over wrongfully, landlord need not give any notice to tenant as prerequisite to maintaining action for possession. Skourtes v. Schaer, 36 Or App 659, 585 P2d 703 (1978), Sup Ct review denied

Landlord may waive statutory right to 30 days’ written notice from tenant. Skourtes v. Schaer, 36 Or App 659, 585 P2d 703 (1978), Sup Ct review denied

This act does not provide for recovery of punitive damages. Brewer v. Erwin, 287 Or 435, 600 P2d 398 (1979)

As this act is not penal, it is not subject to attack for vagueness. Marquam Investment Corp. v. Beers, 47 Or App 711, 615 P2d 1064 (1980), Sup Ct review denied

Distinction in this act between residential and nonresidential tenancies is not irrational, arbitrary or unreasonable under United States or Oregon Constitution. Marquam Investment Corp. v. Beers, 47 Or App 711, 615 P2d 1064 (1980), Sup Ct review denied

Residential Landlord and Tenant Act does not supersede common law in all aspects of personal injury liability. Bellikka v. Green, 306 Or 630, 762 P2d 997 (1988)

Where jury returned general verdict for defendant and court refused to award defendant attorney fees, defendant has right, absent “unusual circumstances,” to receive attorney fees for damages for prevailing on personal injury claim. Steininger v. Tosch, 96 Or App 493, 773 P2d 15 (1989), Sup Ct review denied

Where tenants counterclaim for injunctive relief and damages after landlord sent 30-day, no-cause eviction notice, before awarding attorney fees, district court must determine whether landlord or tenants have right to possession of house and whether tenants’ right to assert counterclaim is provided by statute. Edwards v. Fenn, 308 Or 129, 775 P2d 1375 (1989)

Atty. Gen. Opinions

Private process server in a forcible entry and detainer action, (1975) Vol 37, p 869; applicability to university housing and properties, (1976) Vol 37, p 1297

Law Review Citations

56 OLR 655 (1977); 16 WLR 275 (1979); 16 WLR 835 (1980)


Source
Last accessed
May. 15, 2020